East Riding President's Am-Am Raises £2,750 for Union Funds

With a strong southerly wind blowing last Friday, most of the 26 teams found Hornsea’s front nine extremely challenging. Only four cards recorded a score of 40 points or more but with the wind behind, the back nine was where the winning scores were made.


 Tony Close, David Close, Colin Davy and Colin Smith, all Hornsea members, came in with a back nine of 47 points giving a total of 86 points and a one point winning margin over another Hornsea team comprising James Clubley, Adrian Foord, Brian Coggrave and Richard Close. Teams from Ganstead, Hainsworth Park and Hornsea took the minor prizes.


The Close family were further rewarded for their efforts with two of the four “nearest the pin” prizes, the others going to David Underwood of Beverley and Chris Royston of Hull.


The President, Howard Palmer, thanked all the participants for their support and made special mention of the help given by Stretton and Yvonne Wright in the Hornsea Pro Shop, Ray Cook for running the desk at this event and at the four Members Meetings and Peter Robertson for his efforts in raising well over £1,000 through the sale of raffle tickets. He also thanked the Hornsea Golf Club for agreeing to host the event and for being so supportive in his year of office.



In total, the net proceeds from the event, including the raffle, raised approximately £2,750 for the Union’s funds, which will be used to develop Junior Golf in the East Riding and Scarborough areas.

Prize Winners
Place Team Names Points
1 T. Close, D. Close, C. Davy, C. Smith 86 pts
2 J. Clubley, A. Foord, B. Coggrave, R. Close 85 pts
3 T. Barker, A. Smee, P. Curry, L. Barron 83 pts
4 K. Fitzsimons, M. Bird, T. Redmore, J. Mullins 81 pts
5 H. Palmer (ERUGC President), J. Palmer, R. Brown, L. Gawley 81 pts
Nearest Pins: D. Underwood (7th), T. Close (12th), D. Close (17th)
Nearest Pin in Two: Chris Royston (11th)
Raffle Winners
Fourball Voucher Name (Club)
Beverley & East Riding D. Wilson (Crows Nest)
Bridlington Links S. Thacker (The Oaks)
Brough C. Royston (Hull)
Cave Castle C. Thomson (Beverley & ER)
Cherry Burton C. Railton (Hessle)
Driffield C. Greenwood (Hebden Bridge)
Filey T. Cave (Cave Castle)
Flamborough Head B. Miller (Hainsworth Park)
Ganton T. Green (Sitwell Park)
Hessle J. Masaik (Pike Hills)
Hornsea P. Robertson (Beverley & ER)
Hull P. Bailey (Malton & Norton)
The KP B. Walker (Beverley & ER)
Scarborough South Cliff M. Humphreys (Beverley & ER)
Voucher for:  
Buffalo Restaurant, Bridlington D. Margison (Hainsworth Park)


Vouchers will be distributed to the winners by Peter Robertson, Secretary of the Hull & District Captains Association.

Write a comment

Comments: 0