Howard ends long wait to win the Rex Warren Medal

Howard ends long wait to win the Rex Warren Medal

It was fitting that after many years doing so much work for the Union, including his undying devotion as Team Support to the current Men's YIDU team, Howard Palmer finally got his hands on the prestigious Rex Warren Medal played at its ceremonial home Driffield Golf Club. ERUGC President Mike Dawson presented the medal after an excellent meal in the clubhouse.

Howard, the 2016 President from Ganton / Hornsea GC, put aside a blob at the long first hole to rack up a series of three pointers on his way to an impressive 20 on the outward half. He had a little wooble on the dog-leg 16th and carded only his second blob, but finished with two solid 5 nett 4s to take the day's honours with 37 points.

Cave Castle's Peter Lappin, the 2019 Champion, put in a stirling effort to repeat that success, but a no score on the last left him two short with 35 points. He did, however, take the runner-up prize on the back nine from the ERUGC Men's Team Captain and recent winner of the Matchplay Trophy Andy Lockwood.

Andy played with his junior equivalent Team Manager Sunil Mukerjea, the defending Rex Warren champion, in what Sky Sports would have called its 'featured group'! Sadly 1994 and 2020 champion John Robinson was unable to make up a stellar three ball.

Although he didn't ever threaten to defend his title after a slow start, Sunil's wedge to the short 15th brought him the day's first incidental prize for nearest the pin. He might well have won another tube of balls at the next hole where we had nearest in two, but Jonathan Clark in the last group arrowed in a nine iron to 15 feet to take the shiny Pro V1s. 

Rex Warren Medal winner: Howard Palmer (Ganton) 37 points 

Runner-up: Peter Lappin (Cave Castle) 35 (17) points 

3rd place: Andy Lockwood (Hessle) 35 (15) points

Nearest the pin at 15th hole – Sunil Mukerjea (Ganton)

Nearest the pin in 2 at 16th hole – Jonathan Clark (Hull)

Many thanks to all at Driffield GC, the course really was in wonderful condition despite the torrential rain which fell the previous day. Delighted that the Club Captain Chris Moore was able to join us on the day. He accepted a donation of £50 from the East Riding Union to Driffield GC's junior section from Mike Dawson. The greens were some of the best surfaces played on all year (with some sneaky pin positions) and were a credit to the greenkeepers. Many thanks to catering team for the excellent food and hospitality.

The turnout of 17 included, in addition to the regular attendees, Union referees John Florence, Steve Whiting and Cameron Thomson and Norman Broxham the Union auditor. Thanks for all you do for the Union during the long golfing year. 1984 President Allan Craig was sadly unable to play the golf, but arrived to enjoy the meal with old East Riding teammates and friends. Thanks to John Illingworth for doing the hard yards in organising the event and to Jonathan Clark for keeping good order on the day.

The Rex Warren Medal will return at Driffield GC on Wednesday 25th September 2024 (tbc).

Note: It was decided in 1986 to inaugurate this medal to celebrate the high office of President of the EGU bestowed upon Rex Warren, President of the East Riding Union in 1974 and the Yorkshire Union 1981. It was first played for in 1987. [see past winners here]

Jonathan Clark

Junior League Secretary

Back to News