Results of the Latest Amateur Championship


A beautifully prepared course welcomed the competitors to the East Riding Union Amateur Championship at Ganstead Park. Following heavy overnight rain conditions were good but some tricky pin placements and a south easterly breeze made scoring difficult.

Ryan Gray (Driffield) and Luke Robinson (Hornsea) led the morning scores with 71's followed by a 72 from Adrian Rosindale (Hornsea) and then 74's from holder Jon Samuel (Hull) and Rees Brown (Hornsea).

In the afternoon Ryan Gray set an early target with a magnificent three under par 69 (433344444=33, 344543454=36) to total 140. Luke Robinson faded with an 81 to total 152, leaving Rees Brown to claim the runner up spot with a second 74 and a 148 total.

Andy Allcock snatched 3rd place with an afternoon 73 to go with a morning 76 and 149 total to finish just ahead of Jon Samuel on 74+75=149 and Adrian Rosindale 72+77=149.

This left Ryan Gray the East Riding Union Amateur Champion and winner of the H.W.Collins Trophy by a huge margin of 8 shots and also the winner of the Rob Mcleish Cup for the best Junior in the field.

Leading Scores

Pos. Name (Club) Round 1 Round 2 Total
1st Ryan Gray (Driffield) 71 69 140
2nd Rees Brown (Hornsea) 74 74 148
3rd = Andy Allcock (Scarborough North Cliff) 76 73 149
3rd = Jon Samuel (Hull) 74 75 149
3rd = Adrian Rosidale (Hornsea) 72 77 149
6th Nick Raybould (Bridlington) 76 74 150
7th Lewis Blanchard (Hessle) 78 73 151
8th Alan Wright (Hessle) 76 75 151
9th James Woodhead (Brough) 75 76 151

Best AM Gross (Outside prizes): Luke Robinson (Hornsea) 71

Best PM Gross (Outside prizes): D Cockerham (Ganstead Park) 72

Best Net (Outside prizes): Joe Allenby (Hessle) 74+69=143


CSS: AM = 73, PM = 73.