Men's Team top the YIDU table after Round 2

The first home match of the season was held at Boothferry GC on 9th June and it probably felt like a home match for the visitors, York, as the Club was, until recently, affiliated to the York Union.



East Riding soon established a firm grip on the morning foursomes with the top five matches all reaching the turn two holes or more to the good. None of these games would progress beyond the 15th green, giving East Riding 10 points with wins from Luke Robinson & Matt Raybould (6&4), Jack Maxey & Alan Wright (5&4), Nick Raybould & Leigh Gawley (7&6) and Andy Woodhead & Phil Scott (4&3).


The final match, featuring Boothferry members, Steve Lynch & Jamie Bancroft, was a close-fought encounter with never more than two holes in it. However some deft chipping and inspired putting saw the York pair prevail on the final green.


Foursomes score: East Riding 10, York 2


In order to get back into the match, York needed a fast start in the afternoon singles and, despite East Riding taking the top match through Luke Robinson (4&3) it looked possible with York winning the second and fourth games and coming back strongly from 3 down to only 1 down with two to play in the third game. However, Jack Maxey held on to win that match on the final green and with that the York challenge collapsed, East Riding winning all but one of the remaining eight games.


Nick Raybould, Leigh Gawley and Steve Lynch all ran riot on the back nine to close out their matches by 5&4, the same scoreline achieved by Jamie Bancroft who won his opening five holes. Lewis Nicholls, Tom Duck and Andy Woodhead all won on the 17th green, the latter rounding off a winning run of five consecutive holes with a chip-in.


Singles score: East Riding 18, York 6


Overall score : East Riding 28, York 8


The team was well supported during the day by the President, Chris Clarkson, the President Elect, John Chambers, the Men's Team Administrator, Howard Palmer, the Starter, Steve Robinson, the Secretary, John Illingworth and former Presidents, Steve Thornton, Stephen Wright and Edward Clark. Also present were Mrs Chambers and Mrs Wright, together with a posse of Boothferry members following their own.


Thanks to all the supporters and others involved, especially to Chris Mowforth and the Boothferry Club for hosting the event.




Tom Duck and Lewis Nicholls head the Player of the Year table with maximum points (14) with Nick Raybould on 13, followed by Leigh Gawley, Luke Robinson and Andy Woodhead on 12.